Relentless Beats

Bedrock Records presents The Japanese Popstars new album “Disconnect/Reconnect”

Harder… Darker… Stronger…  That sounds like the start to a Daft Punk song. Disconnect/Reconnect is the third studio album from The Japanese Popstars, and the first new music since the 2012 IMS anthem, “Matter Of Time” (featuring Green Velvet). The new material caught the ears of Laurent Garnier, Francois K, Carl Cox and John Digweed, who promptly signed them to his Bedrock label.

The Japanese Popstars (feat. Green Velvet) – Matter of Time

After flirting with major label success, The Japanese Popstars have returned to the underground and the sound that first brought them so much attention. Now a duo, aka Gary Curran and Gareth Donoghue, they’re once again making the music they love.

At the core of The Japanese Popstars is the contrast between the dark and the light, and while Disconnect/Reconnect is brimming with tough, punchy techno, it features the occasional moment of blissful electronica that punctuated earlier albums such as We Just Are. Ultimately built for dark rooms and nocturnal festival shows, Disconnect/Reconnect is a back to basics release that finds their gaze fixed firmly on the future.

The Japanese Popstars – Disconnect/Reconnect

Gary commented on the new release saying, “We knew towards the end of last year that we had gotten slightly lost between the music that we loved writing and performing and the music that our label at the time wanted or needed us to write. The last album was an amazing experience for us all, the team we worked with were incredible and we played some amazing shows throughout the world.  We ended up playing lots of festival main stage day time shows, amongst these amazing talented and successful artists but we knew that something wasn’t right, we knew that we wanted to move back onto the dance stages, and back into the night. I guess this album is the expression of that feeling.”


1. Disconnect/Reconnect
2. Matter Of Time feat. Green Velvet
3. No Music
4. Pump Power
5. Out Of No Where
6. Night Shift
7. Vision
8. The Dealer
9. Heavy Hitter
10. Release feat Ryan Vail

Connect with The Japanese Popstars:

Show Comments