Relentless Beats

Daft Punk, Armin Van Buuren, Nina Kraviz And More Revealed As 2014 Beatport Award Recipients

Even though dance music has exploded onto mainstream radio and Billboard charts with acts like Avicii, Martin Garrix, The Chainsmokers and more, the genre is relatively  niche. Beatport continues to support the genre by giving DJs and producers a exclusive platform to sell music and now recognize leaders in the genre with its 2014 Beatport Awards.

Instead of hosting an award ceremony, Beatport was more innovative in how it announced its winners. Using their social media pages and Beatport News, the company posted real-time reveals of their winners as well as acceptance speeches from Armin van Buuren, Breach, Dimitri Vegas & Like Mike and more. Winners were chosen based on specific criteria including Beatport sales, fan favorites and selections from industry experts within Beatport.

“On behalf of all of us here at Beatport, I’d like to congratulate all the winners of this year’s Beatport Awards,” said Beatport CEO Matthew Adell. “2013 was a pivotal year in the evolution of dance music, something each of the names on this list contributed to with their talent, passion, and creativity. They certainly deserve all the recognition they are now receiving, and I’m incredibly honored to present them with the honor of a Beatport Award.”

Some of the stand out winners include Daft Punk winning “Best Selling Album of the Year” award for Random Access Memories and Armin van Buuren winning “Album of the Year” for Intense as voted by fans. Beatport editorial staff chose Russian producer, Nina Kraviz as “DJ of the Year”. Check out the full winner list below:

Beatport Sales Awards

(Based on sales from January 1 – December 31, 2013)

-Best-Selling Album of the Year: Random Access Memories (Daft Punk)

-Best-Selling Original Track of the Year: “Animals” (Martin Garrix)

-Best-Selling Remix of the Year: “Got A Feeling (Bontan Remix / Pleasurekraft Edit)” (Josh Butler, Bontan, Pleasurekraft)

-Best-Selling Compilation of the Year: Toolroom Ten (Various Artists)

-DJ Choice Award (for the track appearing in the most Beatport DJ Charts): “Animals” (Martin Garrix)

Beatport Editorial Awards

(Selected by a panel of Beatport staff experts)

-DJ of the Year: Nina Kraviz
-Musical Collaboration of the Year: Borderland (Juan Atkins & Moritz von Oswald)

-Best New Artist: Flume
-Lifetime Achievement: Cajmere (a/k/a Green Velvet)
-Track of the Year: “Jack” (Breach)

Community Choice Awards

(Selected by online fan voting taking place from Feb. 13 – Feb. 28)

-Album of the Year: Intense – Extended Versions (Armin Van Buuren)
-Track of the Year: “Mammoth” (Dimitri Vegas, Like Mike, Moguai)

-Label of the Year: Spinnin’ Records

-Artist of the Year: Dimitri Vegas & Like Mike

Show Comments