Relentless Beats

The Relentless Record Collection: RL Grime’s “VOID”

For this week’s installment of The Relentless Record Collection we have RL Grime’s debut studio album VOIDVOID was originally released on November 14th, 2014, on WeDidIt Records, and features the likes of Big Sean, Boys Noize, Djemba Djemba, and How To Dress Well. The 12-track studio album boasts elements of trap, house, R&B, and everything in between while keeping a dark moody overtone.

“Monsoon” begins with ominous bongo-like percussion which shortly met by rolling synth leads to eventually form a trap drop of epic proportions.

Melodic R&B influenced “Reminder” features lyrics from How To Dress Well.

“Danger”, featuring Boys Noize, combines elements of electro, acid house, breakbeat, and trap to make a one of a kind masterpiece.

“Valhalla”, featuring Djemba Djemba, showcases screeching synths a top pounding 808 percussion.

RL Grime initially was an electro producer having several successful releases on labels such as Dim Mak and Mad Decent under the name Clockwork. However in 2011 he joined the WeDidIt collective and shortly after released his Grapes EP as Rl Grime in 2012. Later that year he teamed up with fellow trap producer Salva to remix Kanye West’s “Mercy”, which has now received about 11.1 million plays on Soundcloud. Since his rise to success  RL Grime has played numerous big music festivals including Electric Daisy Carnival, Hard Summer, and Coachella.

You can purchase “VOID” here and make sure to catch Rl Grime Friday, September 16th, 2016 at Mad Decent Block Party Phoenix!

Show Comments