Relentless Beats

Alison Wonderland, Pete Tong, Rüfüs Du Sol & More Take Home Wins at First Annual EM Awards

Last night, Thursday, September 21st, the first annual Electronic Music Awards honored the biggest and brightest names in the dance music scene. This wasn’t your average awards show though. With no seats or acceptance speeches and most of the evening being filled by performers, it was more like a dance party than anything else. The vibe was “fun, light-hearted, and community-based.” They crowned winners for eleven different awards, each celebrating achievements for music artists, creatives, executives, and other contributors. The event was live-streamed on Twitter and part of the broadcast, including Moby’s set, was streamed in 360, making it one of coolest award shows we’ve ever seen.

Among the winners was Aussie star Alison Wonderland who was up against some great competition, but ultimately beat out Kungs, Marshmello, Mura Masa, Rezz and San Holo to take home the award and title of ‘New Artist of the Year.’

Rüfüs Du Sol took the W for ‘Best Live Show’ against Bob Moses, Bonobo, Eric Prydz, Flume, and Porter Robinson x Madeon and ‘Record of the Year’ for “Innerbloom.” Surprisingly, but also not surprising at all considering the level of talent, there was a tie for ‘Radio Show of the Year’ between Diplo‘s Diplo and Friends and Pete Tong‘s The Essential Selection.

Other winners include Bonobo for ‘Album of the Year,’ Eric Prydz for ‘DJ of the Year,’ Major Lazer + Bieber with ‘Single of the Year,’ and Flume with ‘Remix of the Year.’ Cashmere Cat took home an award for ‘Producer of the Year,’ and Electric Daisy Carnival won ‘Festival of the Year.’

You can catch the New Artist of the Year, Alison Wonderland, in Albuquerque on October 9th and at the Pressroom in Phoenix on October 10th. Diplo will be in Albuquerque on October 20th as part of Viva La Dead and Pete Tong is swinging through the Valley on October 21st. Grab your tickets to these shows in the linked dates!

Show Comments