Relentless Beats

Eric Prydz’s Opus: 19 Tracks Full of What Makes Prydz, Prydz

It’s here, it’s here… IT IS HERE. One of the masters himself, Eric Prydz, has released an album that shows himself entirely as the master of his craft in full glory. Better yet, he does not short change us whatsoever or leave us feeling like there was more to be said with nineteen beautifully constructed works of art that are the tracks to be found on his brand spankin’ new album, Opus (Even though c’mon, we are never going to NOT want more of Prydz).

In this album, listening to these tracks is equivalent to peeling back the many layers of Prydz we have come to know through the years, reveling in the artist we know while also pushing himself  further in the development of his music. Expansive is one of the most adequate ways to sum up this entity that is the beautiful collection of Prydz’s new work, as Spin so rightly puts it in their review of the album for Album of the Week. While you will find the fingerprints of this master on every single track, this is no album where the same package is delivered every single time – hence why we love the man and his phenomenal work, which is a lot.

Eric Prydz @ EDC LV 2015 (last song, ID) (Opus)

Opus Tracklist:

Disc 1:

1. Liam
2. Black Dyce
3. Uber
4. Som Sas
5. Last Dragon
6. Moody Mondays – Eric Prydz, The Cut
7. Floj
8. Trubble
9. Klepht
10. Sjunga

Disc 2:

1. Sunset At Café Mambo
2. Breathe – Eric Prydz, Rob Swire
3. Generate
4. Oddity
5. Mija
6. Every Day
7. Liberate
8. The Matrix
9. Opus

So, there it is. Nineteen diverse tracks from an extremely established artist that sum up, after all this time, who Prydz is and even more so the added experience that has continued shaping the master he is. Essentially, the album ends up being a complete reflection of the roots that Prydz started with while showing that typically seen boundaries of a genre do not have to take the lead.

“Opus eschews hyperbolic concepts, reinvigorating the electronic music album format by showing a record can still be smart and anchored by the dancefloor.”

With the track bearing the album’s title, Opus will take you on an Electronica journey that’ll have you mesmerized the whole time. Or, you can be my guest by all means and please do – you will – fall in love with the traces of dark techno on tracks like Moody Monday ft. The Cut.

Eric Prydz – Moody Mondays Feat The Cut

Lovers of music, come one, come all… I think it is something to be agreed upon that seeing an artist, hearing your favorites and/or new songs, and watching their vision of their labor coming to life during a show is one of our more, if not the most, prized and treasured moments (Even if the ticket is actually our rent because priorities, right?). With the acceptance of this knowledge, behold the three city EPIC 4.0 tour. Eric Prydz’s tours are known for nothing short of a one-of-a-kind experience that contains, but is not limited to, holograms and 3D technology. This tour will take place in New York, San Francisco, and Hollywood. Immensely heartbroken because you cannot partake in Eric Prydz in concert? Don’t you worry ’bout a thing. Eric Prdyz himself will be here for none other than the Phoenix Lights 2016 festival so there is your golden ticket –  or more like go get your golden ticket, now!

Stream Opus Here: Spotify

Connect with Eric Prydz: RB | Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud

Show Comments