Relentless Beats

Star Wars Headspace Album To Feature EDM Heavyweights Like Kaskade and Claude VonStroke

Sick of all the Star Wars hype? Of course you’re not because who could ever get sick of talking about some of the greatest movies of all time?! If you’re looking at ways to get more Star Wars into your life, look no more. Hollywood Records and American Records have announced Star Wars Headspace, an electronic dance music compilation album featuring some of your favorite DJs and some up-and-comers who will eventually become your favorite DJs. The album, led by Rick Rubin, Def Jam co-founder, gave all the artists free range to produce whatever songs they wanted and were given access to the full series’ catalog of sound effects to create the out-of-this-world tracks you will hear on the album. The album will feature 15 original songs from Claude VonStroke, Kaskade, GTA, Galantis, Flying Lotus, Troyboi and many more. The full album will be available on February 19 and pre-orders are open now!


Star Wars Headspace Full Tracklist:  

  1. C-3P0’s Plight- Kaskade
  2. Help Me!-  GTA
  3. Force-  TroyBoi
  4. Cantina Boys-  Baauer
  5. Jabba Flow: Rick Rubin Re-Work (feat. A-Trak)-  Shag Kava
  6. R2 Knows (feat. Barry Drift)-  Claude VonStroke
  7. NR-G7-  Rick Rubin
  8. Ghomrassen-  Bonobo
  9. Bounty Hunters-  Röyksopp
  10. Sunset Over Manaan- ATTLAS
  11. R2 Where R U?-  Flying Lotus
  12. Druid Caravan of Smoke-  Shlohmo
  13. EWOK PUMPP-  Rustie
  14. Scruffy-Looking Nerfherder-  Galantis
  15. Star Tripper-  Breakbot

If you cannot wait until February 19 (no judgement here), three songs off the album are currently available for purchase on iTunes: “Cantina Boys” by Baauer, “NR-G7” by Rick Rubin, and “R2 Where R U?” by Flying Lotus. Still not enough for you? What if I told you these three tracks were also accompanied by some wicked music videos which I conveniently linked below?

Cantina Boys by Baauer:

This trippy music video, released by Disney, takes you on a journey to outer space and beyond through exploding planets and whirling galaxies. The track itself features a strong, steady bass beat throughout the three minutes while sampling some Darth Vadar sound clips to make the song one of the strongest on the album so far.

Baauer – Cantina Boys (Official Audio)

NR-G7 by Rick Rubin:

As the curator for this entire album, we expect Rick Rubin’s track to be nothing less of spectacular. The visuals, while not as amazing as Baauer’s, continue with the phsycadelic space travel theme but this time feature a more digital version behind the screens of a spaceship being taken to some crazy galaxy. The five-minute track takes you on its own journey with alternating beats and tempos almost as if each galaxy we are being sucked into has a different soundtrack. But it works in the most beautiful way possible.

Rick Rubin – NR-G7 (Official Audio)

R2 Where R U? by Flying Lotus:

Flying Lotus, being a genuine Star Wars nerd, have taken sound clips from our favorite droid, R2-D2, to create this crazy chill track. The music video takes us inside the droid and features a trippy kaleidoscope of metal parts and motherboards.  Known for his experimental music, FlyLo’s synth sound is perfect for this album and he seems to fit right in.  However, at times it feels like the multiple beats are fighting over each other and makes the whole track sound like a bit of a mess. While some parts are the track are beautiful (and some of my favorite sounds from the album), the entirety of the track just doesn’t seem to work.

Flying Lotus – R2 Where R U? (Official Audio)

Don’t miss Kaskade, Claude VonStroke, Troyboi, and many more throw down at Phoenix Lights on April 2-3. The two-day, 18+ event taking place at Margaret T Hance Park will also feature DJ Snake, Excision, Black Tiger Sex Machine, Yellow Claw, Eric Prydz, Bakermat, Jai Wolf, MK, SNBRN, with many more to be announced!

Connect With Star Wars Headspace: Website

Show Comments